Ocean Avenue Like Its The Last Time

The title of this post is a phrase that Ryan would say before going into Ocean Avenue but I never thought that the day would come where it would actually be the last time. I had mixed feelings of attending The Final World Tour, I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel and even had fears of what if? What if something goes wrong, Ryan loses his voice half way through the show, the crowds not feeling it…you know all the normal fears that a concert junkie like myself would have.  Like this was the last time I was going to get to see Yellowcard ever and I feared that I would be left unhappy and that would be my last memory of them. It made me question if My Chemical Romance had the right idea by not doing a farewell tour. My Chem had no expectations to fulfill because they just said “goodbye and thank you”.  But then I remember all the other times when My Chem comes on shuffle and there’s still a longing to see them one more time. Just to sing it out to my favorite songs even if I knew it was the last time. This is exactly what Yellowcard managed to do with a 25 song set list filled with all the hits and some major throwbacks and a passion on stage that reminded me why I got hooked on them. I walked out of the venue feeling like both the band and I got some closure. Now when their songs come on there’s no longing there’s just happiness and whatever memory is attached to the song playing. So thank you for letting me “Ocean Avenue” for one last time and making sure it was special. I can’t picture being in your shoes but you took something special and put the perfect bow on it. ❤️

Leave a Reply

